Links to Examples of Various Concepts

Note: These links are provided as a resource to assist in teaching. We do not have responsibility for the content of the material found on the linked pages. Users should be aware of the possibility of encountering potentially offensive material at some sites.


Links to Sites/Pages Which Can Be Used to Discuss Authority and Accuracy

OncoLink (http://oncolink.upenn.edu)
Tobacco Control Archives (http://www.library.ucsf.edu/tobacco/index.html)
Asia Pacific Research Online (http://www.ciolek.com)
The Onion (http://www.theonion.com)
Dihydrogen Monoxide (http://www.dhmo.org)
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (http://www.ushmm.org)
Institute for Historical Review (http://www.ihr.org)

Links to Sites/Pages Which Can Be Used to Discuss Objectivity

The National Right to Life Committee (http://www.nrlc.org)
NARAL (National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League) (http://www.naral.org)
Consumer Reports Online (http://www.consumerreports.org)
BeefNutrition.org(http://www.beefnutrition.org)


Links to Sites/Pages Which Can Be Used to Discuss Currency and Coverage

USA Today (http://www.usatoday.com)
Roget's Thesaurus (http://machaut.uchicago.edu/?resource=Roget%27s)
Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary, 1913 Edition (http://machaut.uchicago.edu/?resource=Webster%27s)
CNN (http://www.cnn.com)

Links to Sites/Pages Which Can Be Used to Discuss Additional Evaluation Challenges Presented by the Web

Marketing Oriented Web Pages (Blending Advertising and Entertainment or Information)
No Smoke Home Page (http://www.smokefreekids.com/)
Melatonin Central (http://www.melatonin.com)
The "Alternative" White House (http://www.whitehouse.net)
The Official White House (http://www.whitehouse.gov)
Chips Ahoy (http://www.chipsahoy.com)
Joe Boxer (http://www.joeboxer.com)

Examples of the Various Types of Web Pages

Advocacy Web Pages
Physicians for Social Responsibility (http://www.psr.org)
The National Anti-Vivisection Society (http://www.navs.org)

Business/Marketing Web Pages
Lands' End Direct Merchants (http://www.landsend.com/)
General Motors (http://gm.com)

Informational Web Pages
Environmental Protection Agency (http://www.epa.gov)
OncoLink (http://www.oncolink.upenn.edu)
Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library (http://www.ciolek.com/WWWVL-Buddhism.html)
Smithsonian Institution (http://www.si.edu)

News Web Pages
washingtonpost.com (http://www.washingtonpost.com)
Philadelphia Online (http://www.phillynews.com)
Wall Street Journal (http://www.wsj.com)