President's Lecture

The President's Lecture Series takes place once in the spring and fall semesters. Beginning in 2009, lecturers are Widener University faculty who are the recipients of the the Fitz Dixon Innovation in Teaching Award or the Outstanding Researcher Award. 
The Fitz Dixon Innovation in Teaching Award, first awarded in 2009, recognizes individual faculty who practiced innovative teaching and/or implemented special learning projects to engage their students and encourage meaningful learning. The recipient will have demonstrated meaningful depth of knowledge in and commitment to his/her field; developed and used effective innovative teaching/learning strategies to promote deep learning and student engagement; used meaningful methods for assessing student learning as a means to improve his/her own teaching; and communicated how the innovation might be used to improve instruction in other contexts. Applications are peer-reviewed with one award publicly presented each year. 

The Outstanding Researcher Award, first awarded in 2009, recognizes an individual faculty member who demonstrates rigorous research and scholarship activity at the national/international level. The recipient is a faculty member who is recognized for the quality of his/her scholarly work; contribution to the profession/discipline; and contribution to promoting the University's mission and vision. Applications are peer-reviewed with one award publicly presented each year.



2013 Spring Lecturer 

Barbara Patterson, PhD
Professor, School of Nursing
March 25, 2013
Lathem Hall - Noon 


 Previous Lecturers

Anne Krouse PhD
Associate  Professor of Nursing
School of Nursing 

Joseph M. Hargadon,PHD, CPA, CMA
Professor of Accounting
School of Business Administration  

Dawn Gulick,PHD, PT, ATC, CSCS
Professor of Physical Therapy
Institute for Physical Therapy 

Marina Barnett, DSW
Associate Professor of Social Work
School of Human Service Professions

Iqbal Mansur, PhD
Professor of Finance
School of Business Administration

Michael D. Rosko, PhD
Professor of Health Care Management
School of Business Administration 

Yvonne Lederer Antonuccl, PhD
Management Information Systems
School of Business Administration