alert Rectangle 9 Rectangle 9 Rectangle 9 Rectangle 9 Group 4 email out facebook fax flickr grid instagram LINK linkedin location Group 47 Group 9 Group 9 Group 47 PHONE play Group 4 " Search twitter video face_white youtube

      Story Ideas

       Send story and noteworthy ideas to Jessica Reyes,

      2016 Faculty Awards

      Top Faculty Honored for Teaching Innovation, Research, Civic Engagement and Institutional Leadership

      faculty awards winners

      Faculty Award Winners

      Faculty award winners pictured from left to right are Dr. Bretton Alvaré, Dr. Marina Barnett, Dr. Scott Van Bramer and Dr. Daniel Robinson with Widener University President Julie E. Wollman.

      Widener University honored its top faculty in the areas of teaching innovation, research, civic engagement and institutional leadership at the annual Faculty Awards banquet on Oct. 6.

      "It is a genuine honor to recognize these dedicated faculty members who were nominated by their colleagues for their scholarship and for the impact they make in our students' lives," said Dr. Stephen C. Wilhite, senior vice president and provost. "At Widener, we prize excellent teaching, scholarship and leadership, as well as engaging students with the community. We think it is important to stop for a moment and publicly honor our very best and most dedicated faculty," he continued.

      dr. vicki brown

      Distinguished University Professor

      Pictured from left to right are School of Engineering Dean Fred Akl, Widener University President Julie E. Wollman, newly named Distinguished University Professor Vicki Brown and Senior Vice President and Provost Stephen C. Wilhite. Distinguished University Professor Ning Wang is not pictured.

      Dr. Vicki Brown, professor of civil engineering, and Dr. Ning Wang, professor of education, were named Distinguished University Professors. The Distinguished University Professor Award honors individual faculty members of distinction on the Main Campus and demonstrates to the broader community that the university is committed to recognizing excellence in teaching, scholarship and service throughout the faculty member's career. They will serve as Distinguished University Professors for a three-year term.

      Dr. Bretton Alvaré, associate professor of anthropology, received the Fitz Dixon Innovation in Teaching Award. The award is given to an individual who has designed, implemented and assessed an innovative or experimental teaching and learning project.

      Dr. Daniel Robinson, professor of English, received the Outstanding Researcher Award. This recognizes a faculty member who has exhibited distinction in scholarly work and has made a significant contribution through research to advancing the profession or discipline and the university's mission.

      Dr. Marina Barnett, associate professor of social work, received the Civic Engagement Award for sustained outstanding contributions to Widener's civic engagement mission through teaching and research.

      Dr. Scott Van Bramer, professor of chemistry, received the Institutional Leadership Award for a record of leading initiatives that further the university's vision, mission and strategic objectives.
      Applications for the awards in teaching, research, leadership and civic engagement were reviewed by a panel of external academic leaders.

      Learn more about the award recipients in the full news release.

      Additional Media


      whats up widener tags

      Share on