Dana Olanoff

Dana Olanoff, PhD

  • Chair, Mathematics Department
  • Associate Professor

Affiliated Programs


  • PhD, Mathematics Education (2011)
    Syracuse University (NY)
  • MS, Mathematics (2003)
    Michigan State University (MI)
  • BA, Mathematics and Latin (1999)
    Hobart and William Smith Colleges (NY)

About Me

I primarily teach mathematics courses for prospective teachers, and I also teach calculus courses. My role as a mathematics teacher is to help students make sense of mathematics and develop conceptual understanding. I do this by helping students become actively involved in their learning through solving new and challenging problems rather than passively absorbing information. I earned BS and MS degrees in mathematics from William Smith College and Michigan State University and a PhD in mathematics education from Syracuse University.

Research Interests

I have a variety of research interests that mostly focus on prospective teacher education. The four main foci include mathematical knowledge for teaching teachers (MKTT), the professional development of mathematics teacher educators, prospective teachers' knowledge of fractions, and task development for mathematics content courses for prospective teachers.


  • Olanoff, D., Lo, J., & Tobias, J. (2014). Mathematical content knowledge for teaching elementary mathematics: A focus on fractions. The Mathematics Enthusiast11(2), 267–310.
  • Masingila, J.O., Olanoff, D.E., & Kwaka, D. (2012). Who teaches mathematics content courses for prospective teachers in the United States? Results of a national survey. Journal of Mathematics Teacher Education15(5), 347–358.
  • Tobias, J.M., Olanoff, D., Hillen, A., Welder, R., Feldman, Z., & Thanheiser, E. (2014). Research-based modifications of elementary school tasks for use in teacher preparation. In K. Karp (Ed.), Annual Perspectives in Mathematics Education 2014: Using Research to Improve Instruction. Reston, VA: National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Professional Affiliations & Memberships

National Council of Teachers in Mathematics (NCTM), Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (AMTE), International Group for the Psychology of Mathematics Education (PME), North American Chapter of the International Group for the Psychology of Mathematics Education (PME-NA)


  • Faculty Development and Provost Grants, Widener University, 2014
  • Doctoral Research Prize, Syracuse University, 2011
  • Outstanding TA Award, Syracuse University and Michigan State University, 2010, 2003